[Cover Stories] Darkness In Daytime

So I’ve written my first interactive fiction game.  Oh joy, oh joy…

OK, so I’m not exactly proud of it.  It’s not as refined as I hoped it would be, and I had a lot more hope for it.  In fact, it does feel kind of short, I will agree with that.  To be perfectly honest, Darkness in Daytime was a project which I had high hopes for, but due to time constraints and other factors, I was forced to rush it into production and publish it quickly.  As a result, I consider the game more like a prototype than an actual game.

The overall premise of Darkness in Daytime was like a protest against censorship in interactive fiction form.  I mean, think about it, we take a lot of things for granted in life, and we never think about what it would be like if it were taken away by the government.  Now, imagine you’re playing an interactive fiction game, and you try to do something that you would normally do, like take an object or open a door, only to be told you’re not allowed to do that because it’s against the rules?

There is a lot more to be done with Darkness in Daytime, but for now, I feel like Tod Frye, the Atari game designer who was forced to release a prototype of Pac-Man for Atari so they could have it ready in time for Christmas! At least I can refine my game, but poor Mr. Frye!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

